Q: What time does the class start?
A: The state of New Mexico requires 15 hours of training to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL). Therefore, our classes are normally conducted over a two day period. Day one will begin at 8 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. with a 1 hour lunch break. Day two will begin at 9 a.m., break for lunch between noon and 1 p.m. then we’ll meet at the range for live fire exercises.
Q: What should I bring to class with me?
A: For the CCW Class you'll just need a pencil and paper. Please do not bring your gun as we do not allow any guns in the classroom except for use by the instructor for demonstration purposes. Absolutely NO LIVE AMMUNITION will be allowed in the classroom. On day two, you should bring your gun to the firing range for the live fire exercises. Additionally you'll need at least 50 rounds of factory ammo, (no reloads please), hearing and eye protection and a large brimmed hat.
Q: When I do my renewal course can I bring my gun to the classroom?
A: Absolutely! You already have your CHL and we encourage you to carry your gun everywhere that you legally can. We do ask, however, that you keep all firearms holstered while in the classroom.
Q: I don't know anything about guns. How do I get started?
A: That's OK, neither did we at one time. Our classes are geared for the beginning shooter. During class, we demonstrate and practice sight picture, sight alignment, grip, stance, breath control and more importantly, handgun safety - before you go to the range for live fire.
Q: What do I do after I take your class?
A: Applicants for a concealed carry license must be U.S. citizens and residents of New Mexico. They must be at least 21 years old and must not have been convicted of a felony or any crime involving domestic violence. Other misdemeanor convictions of violence or substance abuse that occurred more than 10 years prior to applying for a concealed handgun license will not be used to deny a license. They must provide State of New Mexico identification and fingerprint cards for background checks. Applicants must read and comply with the statute and rules, then submit all completed forms and authorizations with payment for all fees. Incomplete applications will be returned.
Q: Can I carry my gun as soon as I finish your class?
A: No. You must wait until the State of New Mexico sends your license in the mail. Pursuant to Subsection A of NMSA 29-19-6, the department has thirty days after receiving a completed application and completing a background investigation, to either issue a license or deny the applicant. It could take up to ninety (90) days or more to complete a background investigation. That being said, my original license arrived within 30 to 45 days after submitting my application.
Q: How much does the original license cost?
A: In addition to the cost of the course, the fee to the state is $100.00. The Ruidoso Police Dept. charges $5.00 per card for fingerprints with two cards require.
Q: How long is a New Mexico CHL good for?
A: New Mexico CHL's are good for 4 years from the date of issue. When your license expires the renewal cost is now $75 for 4 more years.
Q: I don’t have a gun yet, can I still take your class?
A: Yes, we have a limited number of guns available for rent.
Q: How many rounds of ammunition should I bring?
A: You will need a minimum of 50 rounds. 25 for practice and 25 to qualify. If you intend to qualify with additional handguns you’ll need 25 rounds for each of them also. We suggest bringing more since additional practice is not only beneficial but a lot of fun also. We also request that you bring a suitable holster for each gun you intend to use.
Q: Is my New Mexico CHL recognized in other states?
A: Yes. The link below will take you to a .PDF document that lists all United States that have granted reciprocity or honors to all other states. Page two has a listing of all states that your New Mexico CHL is recognized in.
Q: I am a NM resident and have a CHL from another state that has reciprocity with New Mexico. Can I carry concealed in New Mexico with that license even though I live here?
A: Yes. NM does not have a requirement in its law that residents must possess a NM license to carry in NM, when they are licensed by any state that is recognized by NM. You may see a complete list here.
Q: I qualified with a .38 in my Ruger Security Six. Can I carry it loaded with .357 Magnum ammo?
A: Yes, as defined in 29-19-2 B. “caliber” means the diameter of the bore of a handgun.". The law was specifically written to clearly eliminate this question. Any .38 Class of ammunition is authorized under the law in any .38 caliber chambering. Any .45 Class of ammunition is authorized under the law in any .45 caliber chambering.
Q: I have a .22 target pistol. Can I use it to qualify?
A: No. NM law requires that you qualify with at least a .32 caliber. We recommend qualifying with the highest caliber that you would ever have a need to carry concealed. If you qualify with a .45 caliber you may carry anything under that provided it is of the same category. However, if you qualify with a 9mm you would not be allowed to carry a .45.
Q: If I qualify with my .45 revolver can I carry my 9mm Glock?
A: No. You must qualify with each category (revolver/semi-auto) that you might want to carry.
Q: If I have my gun holstered in “plain view” on my belt will I be breaking the law?
A: No. New Mexico is an Open Carry State. It is legal to carry a loaded firearm without a NM license, as long as it is not concealed. However, it is not legal to carry any openly displayed firearm in any federal building, school or licensed liquor establishment. It is the responsibility of the person carrying the firearm to be informed as to when/where carrying is prohibited. This law applies to residents and non-residents alike.
Q: Where are the classes held?
A: The class location varies depending on the number of students enrolled. All classes are held within the Ruidoso area with the live fire exercises being conducted at the Ruidoso Gun Club range or two other area ranges depending on circumstances. You will be notified of the exact class location well before the class starting date.